Priorities

May 17, 2008 at 12:51 pm | Posted in Learning is Messy | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

It’s been almost a week since my last post or comment on another blog. These last two weeks were exceptionally hectic- presenting 2 orientation sessions about 20 times for all LS staff for use of their new designated laptops. The response from teachers ranged from grateful to overwhelmed to negative. I won’t go on in a negative vein, but I have ended this week feeling drained, hopeless and unloved. : ) And I don’t understand the negativity!

Which leads me to think, move my focus to those in my environment who are positive and proactive and prioritize an amount of time each night for those in my virtual environment through podcasts, blogs, twitter, etc. I come to this realization over and over, some day it will sink in permanently I hope. It’s time to reread Kim Cofino’s post,  Work with the willing… again.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey, I just wanted to give a little support as someone in a similar position. I don’t understand the negative responses either, and sometimes I find it a struggle not to take it personally (even though I KNOW it isn’t personal). It is hard when you are passionate about something, to accept that some people are not, and you’ll probably never inspire them to be. It’s not you (or me), it’s them. I’ll have to read Kim’s post – I love the title. I decided to try that strategy (work with the willing) a few months ago, and so far, it has been working ok for me. I’m hoping maybe things will spread outward and others will become interested as they see what their peers are accomplishing. Good luck.

  2. It happens everywhere. Some people are just resistant to change. Pounds, shillings and pence to dollars and cents. Miles to kilometres. Even pen and paper to computers. Most teachers have now got into the swing of using word processing on a computer, but we have to take smaller steps to lead them from a Web1.0 situation to a Web2.0 Imagine what is going to happen when we get into Web3.0

  3. Andrea and Sue,
    Thanks for your comments. Now that I’ve had a day of rest, shopping and exercise I’m ready to enthusiastically jump back into the fray. I avoid being negative, but I decided to be open and honest in this blog and I appreciate knowing I’m not alone. If I focus on the fullness of the glass, I’m better off.

    I think the best thing I’ve gained from this challenge so far is all the people who I’ve discovered from comments and exploring those participating and commenting to other bloggers. It’s moving me from the position as an observer to a participant.

  4. I totally understand what you’re going through – and for sure, we all go through these tough times. I think it was hardest for me to see that sometimes all of my hard work just fell on deaf ears, and thus the “Work with the willing” post was born. There isn’t enough time in the day for me to spend convincing every negative voice to change – sometimes the actions and successes of others speak far louder than my voice ever could. Good luck! And remember, we’re all with you!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

