After-School Activites

October 29, 2008 at 6:45 pm | Posted in Collaboration, Learning is Messy, Moodle, Planning, Tech Integration | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

I’d like to follow up on 2 new initiatives I’ve written about. The first after-school activity is with my student group, Digital Media Kids. In my last post I wrote that I would discuss our direction with them (to a degree) by asking the following questions, “ what do you see us doing? What do you want to learn? What do you want to express? Who do you want as an audience? After we sort those out, then we can bridge, What do you want to express and how?”

Our first discussion brewed some excitement about sharing favorite interests and getting readers involved. We started posting informational articles and found the main posting interest now is on line games, so now we are allowing game-playing one afternoon, followed by a review. Posts have been expressed in slideshows, written and upcoming podcasts. I love that they are eager to learn different means to express themselves. We haven’t discussed or created essential questions, but it feels right to allow time to get the feet wet, and then stand back and look at meaning and relevancy. The group is five 8-year-olds and a 9-year-old and they are sharing at home and with relatives who are so far impressed. There is fun and learning each hour!

My second after-school initiative is with the grown-ups on campus- holding open-lab hours till 6 Monday through Thursday. It started well and has slowed. I’m not discouraged and plan, after report cards are done in 2 weeks, to get out and be more pro-active by suggesting new ideas and growing further with current projects.

Do any of you readers have similar sessions and in what ways are you succeeding?

Update: October 30, 2008

My position is PK-12 but I live in the LS and focus most of my energy there, my TI colleage focusing on the Middle and Upper school. But this afternoon one of the MS/US Enlish/Writing teachers came in for my After-school tech lab. She was unsure how to use moodle and how to set up the mandated class page “presence” in Moodle. We went over the basics looking at the Moodle site and then I asked, do you want to see some class examples? I loved her reply- “No, I want to do something that suits me and my classes.” So she then told me about how she teaches and showed me one of her daily 3-6 slide PPTs that serve as lesson support and organiztion support for students- many images and light on text. Very positive use of PPT. From there it was a no-brainer. We set up her page so she can upload each PPT as a PPS at the end of each day for students to revisit and absent students to use to get caught up. When she left, she said she has no interested in forums, chats, etc but may be interested in blogs… I know it’s not web3D, but everyone has to start somewhere and I am delighted to have another after-school colleague!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sometimes I think these types of afterschool activities are the most meaningful for both the students and the teachers. I used to run a movie making club back in Munich and, because there was no pressure for grades or attendance or “curriculum” we had so much fun and the kids learned so much! Sure, it was fun movies – totally written, directed, acted, filmed and edited by the kids – but once they had been in the club one semester, they could basically lead the group the next semester. Now that’s learning! Looking forward to hearing more about your Digital Media Kids!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

