Si Se Puede

November 17, 2008 at 7:24 am | Posted in 21st Century, Collaboration, Conference, Global Collaboration, Links, Planning, Podcasts, Presentations, Professional Development, Resources, Video conferences, Voicethread | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Like a picture coming into focus, the past week and a half have been very gratifying professionally- mainly due to connections I’ve made with local and distant educators. moka_pot

Reaching Out Off-Campus After last minute changes (due to reading Presentation Zen) to my presentation of educational uses of VoiceThread, I gave my presentation to a wonderful group of teachers at the MAIS conference. Afterwards, there was more discussion and connections made. One sample VoiceThread from our ESL teacher that I shared led to a new collaboration between she and a teacher in Barcelona. Also at the conference, the job-alike session contained some interesting discussion and a new connection. Also last week, I participated in a videoconference with teachers in Jacksonville, FL as part of Silvia’s K12 Online LAN party and was able to meet and speak directly with a first grade teacher we hope to collaborate with. And speaking of the K12 Online conference, I’m still enjoying the workshop podcasts while traveling to and from school and on long walks around Madrid- although it’s a challenge to write down quotes and thoughts that arise while listening!

Reaching Out on Campus While I didn’t meet with my after-school group last week due to a holiday and parent conference day, I did work with colleagues during the after-school open lab. I was also invited by two teachers to help create integrated activities/projects for upcoming units of study and will meet with blogging classes this week to continue with comments and new posts. One day was spent totally away from my desk in classrooms and meetings for ongoing new projects. This was all very welcome after spending weeks preparing for the NWEA MAP tests in the lab, two weeks of which I was closed in the lab as test proctor.

My Little Tribe I am loving my after-school group and the growing toolbox we are developing. We’ve shared on our blog through written posts with images, PPT slideshows, and are currently working on Camtasia movies to create online game reviews. Also, this week we start a videoconference friendship with Ms. Bunyi’s class in Tennessee. We have VoiceThread creations and podcasts coming up as well.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just reading presentation Zen right now and realizing what a mess I have been!

    At least I acknowledge that I am a learner!

    Cheers

    Paul


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

